Black Bears announce 2023-24 Protected List

by Rob Lippolis

BINGHAMTON- The Binghamton Black Bears have announced their 2023-24 protected players list for the upcoming FPHL expansion draft. Current FPHL teams may select any combination of 15 players from their roster to be unavailable during the upcoming expansion draft with Baton Rouge and Wytheville scheduled to join the league next season.  

The Black Bears organization has submitted the following list of 15 players to the FPHL:


Austin Thompson, Chad Lopez, Mac Lewis, Gavin Yates, Tyson Kirkby, Connor Smith, Jesse Anderson, Jestin Somero, Nikita Ivashkin, Brenden Stanko, & Andrew Logar


Colan Fitzgerald, Mathieu Boislard, & Jake Schultz


Talor Joseph

Any other remaining players will be eligible for the expansion draft, scheduled to take place during the first week of June. Binghamton will retain the rights to any players on the protected list or those not selected during the expansion draft ahead of the free agent signing period.  

Stay current with the latest team news by visiting, by calling 607-722-7367, or visiting the front office on the third floor of the Visions Veterans Memorial Arena. Follow the Black Bears all year long on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Tik Tok @BlackBearsFPHL